Against All Odds, Mega Awards Throws Up Shocks And Spectacle

The uncanny revolution for the awakening of the Nigerian music industry instituted by the organizers of Nigeria's premier gospel awards, 'Music and Entertainment Gospel Awards' (MEGA) was courageously  taken to greater heights with the second edition of the pacesetting project which took place in Lagos on Friday, November 14, 2014. 

The award night tagged the 'MEGA Show' by the Main Organizing Committee (MOC), was held at the Haven Event Centre, Ikeja GRA, Lagos with glitz, glamour and paparazzi. It was a landmark event which attracted outstanding celebrities such as Broadcasting icon, Prince Bisi Olatilo, COSON's Chief Tony Okoroji, Chairman, Rev. Olufemi Ogedemgbe, Snr. Special Asst. (SSA) to the executive governor of Lagos State; owners of Hotel Support Services, Dele Coker and Dipo Efunkoya, music legend, Laolu Akins, top presenter and channel owner, Agatha Amata, veteran actor & producer, Patrick Doyle, ex-reggae star, Amos McRoy Jegg, Broda Martyns, Lara George, Patrick Avoseh, President of Private Label Owners Association of Nigeria and MD, Dapat Music Ltd.; Rev. Timi Orokoya, National President, Gospel Musicians Association of  Nigeria (GOMAN); Ambassador Korede Willoughby, ex- Federal Permanent Secretary; Chinedu Chukwuji, GM, COSON; and a host of others.

 The ceremony was also livened up with the enthusiastic attendance from music artistes, fans and comedians  within and outside Nigeria. The award was expertly anchored by top comedian and MC, Tunde Adewale (Tee-A); while Omo Jesu piloted the affairs of the pre-show called "MixZone" - where 10 awards were presented.

The very best of musical menu was served by distinguished Nigerian Gospel acts around the globe. Dubai- based and Africa's first female Artiste of the Year Award Winner, Funke Akinokun, who flew in for the awards, led the jewelled army of gospel artistes that made the audience almost shed tears of joy as they put on  thrilling performances. Other performing acts were 2013 artiste of the year, Nathan Florocka Akiremi, Ibitayo Jeje, Da'son, D'Priest, Juliana Etiele (Abuja), Enugu-based Mr. Melky, Aimee (Rita Alakija) and iconic Broda Martyns, who virtually set the whole venue on fire.

A total of 36 awards were given out by the Board of Judges (B0J), apart from a single "Special Award" to Mike Abdul's Morire as "Most Popular Song of 2014".   Akinokun became the first female Nigerian artiste to win the highly coveted Artiste of the Year award including two other trophies. Multiple winners who took home the new and highly-acclaimed glittering MEGA trophy, include Mike Aremu (winning four with his "Coat of Many Colour"; Nosa Omoregie's "Open Doors" (with four awards - including Song of the Year with "Always Pray For You"); Kenny K'ore (3 awards), Cute Sagay and Razphil (2 each).

Winners of single trophies are as follows: Eteile. Taiwo Oladoye, Zoe Chinaka, Esselyte, Itunu Oseni, Aity Daniel's, Cris Emerald, Gozie Okeke, PITA, Monique, Chika 100%, Ebubedike, Da'son, Yinka Davids, Wole Oni, Storm, Rosemary Onumaegbu & Faith Ajiboye.

 The event described by MEGA 2014 winner (Medley in English), Esselyte as 'megalicious', was adjudged by almost all the guests as very interesting, colourful, invigorating and entertaining. It ended about 8.30pm.

MEGA 2014 was executive-produced by Footprints PML, the awards & media company run by Iretunde and Femi Akintunde-Johnson (FAJ).

More Photos Below: 

Post a Comment

Please show support and encouragement by leaving your comments and views.

To Contact Gospel Hotspot
News/Music/Video/Event /Tip Off/ Advert

Previous Post Next Post